Anquan Boldin wins Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

2/10/15 — Players and fans alike knew that Super Bowl 50 was going to be something special.

And for Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos, it certainly was.

But one of the weekend’s most special moments occurred off the field, when San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Anquan Boldin won the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, presented by Nationwide.

Boldin was selected as the 2015 award recipient from a group of three finalists, including New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning, and New Orleans Saints tight end Benjamin Watson.

Throughout his career, Boldin — a three-time Pro Bowl player and Super Bowl champion — never lost sight of the importance of giving back.

In 2004, he created The Anquan Boldin Foundation, which serves underprivileged youth by expanding educational and life opportunities. The foundation offers programs and services throughout the year, including summer enrichment programs, Thanksgiving food drives and the Q81 academic scholarship fund.

“We’re proud of our second year as the presenting sponsor of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award,” said Terrance Williams, Nationwide’s chief marketing officer. “It’s the most prestigious award the NFL gives, because it honors a player’s accomplishments on and off the field. Congratulations to Anquan Boldin for all the great work he’s doing in his community. His commitment to giving back closely aligns with Nationwide’s core values and our ‘more than a business’ approach to serving others.”

Since becoming the sponsor of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, Nationwide has elevated its presence using digital and social media channels. Additionally, the company has donated $350,000 to the various charities represented by the 32 team nominees.

First awarded in 1970, the NFL Man of the Year Award was renamed in 1999 for Chicago Bears running back and 1977 award winner Walter Payton.

Nationwide was named the first corporate sponsor of the award in 2014.

To learn more about the award and to watch the videos of the three award finalists, visit the NFL’s Man of the Year page.